Home > Uncategorized > …Old times and a new Year…

…Old times and a new Year…

With the swiftness of wind and gentleness of a caressing breeze, a day on the calender changed and celebrations burst vivid colors in the night sky. A decade had passed, said some, and cheers was the cry of joy all around. What however, did not change, let alone pass, was the fact that like all the previous years, this last night of December and the hung-over morning of the day later, earthly beings made resolutions ! Resolutions to  improvise the little imperfections that they perceived in their own stupid selves…which, albeit are rarely held onto, are undeniably a fantastic promise. These pseudo promises empower us with the belief that change is possible and oodles of optimism oozes out of our radiant selves.

Strange & demented (at times) that I am, I somehow felt that its good to have some memories which are untarnished, unaltered and untouched by the trivialities of change and modernity. A safe haven of memories, wherein we can successfully search for serenity, everlasting peace, an unending calm of restlessness, and in my case, early signs of dementia. For some, I would like to assume, these are the memories which make the glitzy gadgety present fade out in comparison to the cold, grey, yet a beautiful, resplendent past. A past, of simplistic expectations, pruned, to make way for the simplest of joys and smiles.

Lucky for me, I happened to have spent 4 years of my mortal life in a small hamlet of lunatics, which, I do not doubt, offers a live tour of my past anytime I go there. Yes ladies and gentlemen, I am talking of Karad. Due to some reason which involved free food, I happened to be there very recently. The air smelled of cane, the rickshaws ferried half a dozen guys, the college staff seemed hostile, the hostel walls smelled of piss, the college grounds grew shrubs as tall as cane,  the lunatics (some call these undeserving morons as profs) seemed insensitive and uncaring, the walls seemed numb to the oblivious pain of being in the presence of lunatics and the history, the only good thing the place can offer in the future, seemed like being eroded, root by root and getting disgruntled with each passing day.

As I kept on hoping to find my everlasting peace, I realized that all these voids in the very same place, were once full with the most precious of all things – friends ! I still had felt that the sweetest of times was when half a dozen of us had crammed in a rick to catch a train that we would have just missed,  I would still feel great at the hostility of the college lunatics had I known that they would be referred to by some unwritable and fun names later on, I would still have felt sorry for the history being eroded and yet a sweet satisfaction would engulf me thinking I would be a part of it in the future, and I would still have laughed and cursed at the smell of piss on hostel walls had Fuse would have been there to tell us that his room had attached LatBaths !!

Lucky that I am, I was with the same bunch of half a dozen guys at that cold last night of December listening to their resolutions for the coming year. Whether they change or not, they (and luckily enough for me, many many such half a dozens) make up the empty voids in space and time in my happiest of memories. Cheers to them and cheers to you all for reading this and wish you a delightful year ahead.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. January 4, 2011 at 03:16

    Old times and a new year.. a perfect combination to make this journey delightful.. Cheers!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

